Enrolled Agent

What Is An Enrolled Agent And How To Become One?

What is an Enrolled Agent?

An Enrolled Agent (EA) is a tax professional authorized by the United States federal government to represent taxpayers before the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). EAs specialize exclusively in taxation and have a unique expertise in tax law, which allows them to provide tax-related services to individuals and businesses. EAs are authorized to represent taxpayers in all matters before the IRS including audits, collections, and appeals. They work with individuals, small businesses, corporations, partnerships, estates, and trusts, and are bound by ethical standards that require them to maintain their license through continuing education.

What is the EA Credential?

The EA credential is a professional designation granted by the IRS to individuals who have passed the Special Enrollment Examination (SEE). The SEE exam has three parts: Individual taxation, Business taxation, and Representation, Practices, and Procedures. 

Who is the EA Credential For?

The EA credential is ideal for individuals with a strong interest in tax law and who want to develop a career in IRS representation, tax consulting, tax return preparation, as well as other tax-related services. 

Enrolled Agents are a valuable resource for anyone in need of tax-related assistance. Becoming an Enrolled Agent demonstrates a high level of knowledge in tax law and can lead to increased credibility, career opportunities, and the ability to offer a wider range of tax-related services.

What are the EA Exam Eligibility Requirements?

To become an EA, candidates are required to obtain a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN). One unique aspect of becoming an EA is that there are no specific education or experience requirements to begin, making the path to becoming an EA accessible and open to anyone. However, it's important to note that while there are no strict requirements to sit for the exam, the process of becoming an EA still requires hard work, study, and dedication. 

How Much Does it Cost to Become an EA?

There are three components to the cost of becoming an EA:

  1. Apply for a PTIN, if you don't already have one: $19.75
  2. EA Exam Registration Fee: $259 per Part
  3. Enrollment Fee: $140 (after passing all of the exams)

Example: if you do not already have a PTIN and pass all 3 exams on your first attempt, the total cost is $936.75.

How to Become an EA?

What is the Special Enrollment Examination (SEE)?

SEE is the Special Enrollment Examination, also known as the EA (Enrolled Agent) exam. The EA exam is composed of three parts, each consisting of 100 multiple-choice questions in a 3.5-hour testing time.

The three EA exams are based on current tax law. The exam testing cycle runs from May 1 through the end of February of the following year. There is no testing in March and April. Each part of the EA exam covers specific Domains (Sections) that are released by the IRS in Exam Content Outlines.

When scheduling your Enrolled Agent exam appointment, you will be required to pay a fee of $206 per part. It's important to note that this fee is non-refundable and non-transferable.

How to Maintain the EA Credential?

Once you become an EA, you are required to:

How to Study for the EA Exam?

We are thrilled to announce an exciting partnership between HOCK and PassKey Learning Systems, two of the most innovative players in professional education. 

Combining PassKey's world-class study materials with HOCK's PassMap learning system creates a winning combination for EA exam candidates. By partnering together, we are setting a new standard for excellence in EA education. Learn more about the PassKey / HOCK EA Exam Review.

Learn More about EA Exam Review